Oh Hai There

We introduced my sister-in-law to lolcats speak yesterday, when Jeremy found an authentic opportunity to say “I can haz cheezburger?”.  (He wanted the leftovers on my plate.)  Jeremy and I and the cousins went on a long lolcats riff while poor Jennifer was left behind, wondering what was wrong with the rest of us.

We have a great 4th planned today, starting with a trip to the gym in an hour or so.  I spent much of last night laying in bed not sleeping because of the heat and pondering whether I should do the workout from the main CrossFit site today (a doozy of a hero workout called Morrison), scale it down, or just do some weight/skill work.  These are the things that occupy my mind in the wee hours between the neighbors towtruck starting up and the feral cats going at it.  Lucky for me, CrossFit Sunnyvale posted a workout today after all, so decision made.  It’s not easy, but I’ll do it (and LOVE how I feel afterwards).

After throwing myself at the workout this morning, I’ll make some fava bean dip and carrot sticks for the afternoon BBQ we’re headed to.  I don’t eat lots of beans on the paleo diet, but these are from our garden from last year’s bumper crop, and they’re going to a party to be eaten by others anyway.

Then we’ll come home in time to start up our own grill to cook the grass-fed brisket from our quarter cow that I seasoned on Saturday and has been sitting in the fridge soaking up the flavors of smoked pimenton and garlic.  Corn on the cob and a big salad are also on the menu.  Our neighbors are coming over to help us eat it all.

In blog news, I’ve been thinking if I can just remember to take pictures of what I make, I’d have more interesting recipes to post.  We’ll see how I do on that.  I also want to add a sidebar feature with the books I’m reading, but I’m having trouble making any of the available widgets work properly.

What fun things are you doing today?

 

UPDATE at noon: For the first time ever I decided to cut a WOD short – I only did 3 rounds instead of the prescribed 4.  I also only did walking lunges for about 80 feet each round, with just 25 lbs. overhead (is he smoking crack with the 63 lbs. prescribed weight? There’s no plates that weigh that much…)

Anyways, wow, that was a doozy.  90 box jumps, 60 wall balls, and 30 15 lb. dumbell presses DONE.  I also decided to work on my full squat clean first for a bit, so that helped thoroughly tire me out.  But still, as promised, I feel GREAT.

I did some yard work when we got home and now I’m ready for a shower.  Happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

