The Next Level: Food-as-Fuel and Vulnerability

Continuing my weekly installment in the Strong is the New Skinny Body Transformation Challenge.  Click here to see all posts on this topic.

As I mentioned last week, I’ve just come to the end of a two-week “break” in my diet.  I put the word break in quotes because it wasn’t a free-for-all, it was more of a time where I specifically stopped doing any particular plan, and practiced just eating what I felt like when I felt like it.

In addition to the lessons around which foods are worth eating that I discussed last week, it’s also been a great opportunity to reflect on two closely related things: how I want to fuel my body for the rest of my life and how I want to deal with my emotional issues around eating.

One discovery this last two weeks is that eating even a little bit of wheat affects my mood, and I’m overall happier and more at peace when I’m eating what I consider clean food.  Part if this is psychological, when I’m eating in a way that I know honors my body, logic follows that I feel better about myself and happier. But I decided based on some trial and error this past week that there’s a physiological side of it that’s specifically linked to wheat. (Insert gentle I-told-you-so from Jeremy here, he’s been off of wheat for years.)

That said, I don’t have all that much more to say about any of this right now.  I decided to go ahead and do the Whole30 for real this time, with no personal customizations, and no weighing myself. I’m really looking forward to eating extremely clean and feeling great. Today is day one.

The title of this post is speculative, it’s what I think I’ll be tackling next as I move forward.

I’m feeling rather reflective, and I think I’ll have more to say in another week or so. I came across this video (thanks Adam) and its been soaking its way into my psyche, I’ll let it speak for itself.

WEEKLY WORKOUT LOG

Monday, April 11

CrossFit
Handstand practice – I tried to kick up to a handstand and couldn’t.
Helen
3 rounds of:
400m run
21 KB swings (used a 25 lb KB)
12 pull-ups (used purple and green band until last 6 when I had to switch to jumping)
Completed in 14:10

Tuesday, April 12

Front squat – worked up to 1RM
5-3-3-1-1-1
65-75-85-95-105-115(fail)-110(PR)
Also worked on a variety of other stuff –
Presses – 65 lbs
Pullups – worked on lower bar, jumped from floor and then wiggled my chin up to the bar a couple of times which was a first. Then got out a small box and did some negatives.
Ab work – abmat situps and throne leg-lifts

Wednesday, April 13

CrossFit – Work on snatch:
1 snatch-grip deadlift
1 hang power snatch
1 snatch balance
1 power snatch
Got to 48, failed at 53.  I feel like this is partly form practice, I should probably practice a bunch of snatches at like 35 lb or so.

Practice pull-ups: I got a couple with just the green band!

AMRAP in 15 minutes
– 21 wall balls (10 lb ball)
– 15 burpees (knee push-ups)
– 9 knees to elbows (halfway up as usual)
Completed 3 Rounds plus 21 wall balls and 11 burpees (aka 3 rounds)

Thursday, April 14 – REST DAY

Friday, April 15

CrossFit3 rounds for time (sort of like Filthy Fifty)
– 15 box jumps (medium box)
– 15 jumping pull ups
– 15 kbs (25 lb)
– 15 walking lunges
– 15 knees to elbows (not really)
– 15 push press 33/45 (30 lb)
– 15 back extensions
– 15  wall balls (10 lb)
– 15 burpees (knee push-ups)
– 15 double unders (did 4x singles, except the first 2 rounds I somehow thought I needed to do 100 singles)
Completed in 32:50

Saturday, April 16 – REST DAY

Did some digging and pickaxing in the garden.

Sunday, April 17 – REST DAY


3 thoughts on “The Next Level: Food-as-Fuel and Vulnerability

  1. garyarthuryoung says:

    Paleo. Whole30.

    What do you drink?

    I’m still doing < 100g of carbs a day but I've been craving sweet drinks. Homemade lemonade or ice tea with sugar cut with Splenda (or vice versa) just leads to more of the same.

    • jannamo says:

      Water. And sparkling water. And sparkling water with a slice of lemon or orange, or if I’m feeling crazy, both lemon and orange! My work has free sparkling water which is cool.

      Oh and coffee and black tea usually with coconut milk before noon, and herbal tea sometimes. I was doing cream or half n half in the coffee, but since I’m trying the no dairy thing, I’m sticking with coconut milk. I’ve been on a weird kick lately where I put coffee, decaf coffee, and black tea all in my coffee maker, and it’s delicious.

      Splenda messes with my mood and energy levels and makes me feel generally weird.

      You’ve always been a juice and beverage kind of guy, my weakness is snacky things and chocolate.

      Have you read Gary Taubes? I’m reading Why We Get Fat, and it’s blowing my nutritional paradigm yet again. I’ll probably write about it next week. I recommend it.

      • garyarthuryoung says:

        Ooooo coconut milk in coffee or tea. That is excellent.

        I haven’t read any Gary Taubes. Can’t remember when I last read (or listened to) a non-fiction book. I’m so book backlogged right now.

        Here’s a good suggestion for you that I tried recently until my ginger scuttled to the back of the refrigerator. For your water + citrus. If you throw in a few fresh ginger slices it gives it a nice, subtle flavor that borders on a hint of flowery sweetness and spice. It’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

