One Month Down, The Rest of My Life To Go

Continuing my weekly installment in the Strong is the New Skinny Body Transformation Challenge.  Click here to see all posts on this topic.

Today is day 30 of my low-carb-Paleo eating plan. I have had one glass of wine, no grains, and very little sugar in the last 30 days.

I feel great. I think I’ve finally hit upon a way of eating that matches my principles, tastes delicious, doesn’t makes me feel hungry or crave sugar, and gives me even energy throughout the day. I think I’ll stick with this for a good long time, maybe the rest of my life. 

But interestingly, and I’ll admit disappointingly, as I mentioned last week, I haven’t actually lost any weight. I’ve fluctuated a bit around my starting weight but as of yesterday I’m one pound up from it.

I’ve been feeling kinda down this weekend about the lack of weight loss, so Jeremy wisely pointed out yesterday that if all I really wanted to do was lose pounds, I should quit CrossFit and just count calories. Which made me realize that I DO care more about being strong than being skinny.

So that’s cool.

Jeremy’s also good about pointing out that I’m clearly still building muscle since I’m getting stronger every week, so that I must therefore also be burning fat if my weight is staying the same. He’s full of good points like that.

I also cleaned out some drawers today and surprised myself to find that I fit in all my skinny jeans, even the skinniest ones. That was a shocker. Then I looked up my measurements from a year ago and I’ve lost 2 inches off both my waist and my hips since then. Also cool.

As far as my eating plan moving forward, I’m still not really sure.  I am sure that I’m going to continue eating Paleo, because I love it. Definitely no grains, at least not on a regular basis.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to stay ketogenic. It has helped tremendously with the physiological aspect of cravings, which is great, but I have to admit now that my biggest reason for doing it was to shed some pounds.  Maybe I haven’t given it enough time, but I’d like to experiment with some extra Paleo-friendly carbs, like a little fresh fruit and winter squash, to see how I feel.

My birthday is coming up, so I’ll probably have some wine on the next two weekends, but I’m only going to allow wine on Friday and Saturday evenings, and no more than two glasses. That rule is not about weight loss, just about making sure I feel good. I may keep that rule for a good long while too.

I’m planning to go to local French bakery to pick up some macarons to bring to the office on my birthday, since I’d like to avoid anything with gluten, and I’ve been looking forward to a treat like that. And we have a nice dinner planned with some good friends in a few weeks where I’ll probably indulge in some non-Paleo eats a bit as well.

As usual for me, figuring out how to feed myself and be happy with my body is more of a struggle than working out regularly. My workouts have been great! I look forward to every CrossFit workout, it’s one of the highlights of my day on the days I go. I’m also getting better at climbing and starting to crave lifting heavy things, which is not something I ever expected of myself.

So I’ll continue posting once a week on this topic, at least until the three months I originally set out is up. I’ll hopefully be back to my usual more positive outlook next week. In the meantime, here’s my workout log for this week.

WEEKLY WORKOUT LOG

Monday, March 21

CrossFit – 5 rounds for time:
– 9 deadlifts at bodyweight (I did 110 lbs or ~60% of my bodyweight)
– 11 kettlebell swings – 35/50 lbs (I did 25 lbs)
– 1 rope climb (subbed 7 jumping towel pull-ups)
– 250 row/run or 50 double unders (I did a .2 mile run)
Completed in 22:13

Tuesday, March 22

CrossFit
Push Jerk 1-1-1  (I did 60-70-80.) The 80 was sloppy but I did get it up.
WOD:
– 500m row
– 30 push press (empty 30 lb bar felt much heavier than I expected)
– 30 push ups  (knees)
– 30 squats
– 500m row
– 20 push press
– 20 push ups
– 20 squats
– 500m row
Completed in 19:28

Wednesday, March 23

CrossFit
AMRAP in 10 minutes – I did 5 2/3.
(AMRAP stands for As Many Rounds As Possible)
– 9 knees to elbows  (Best I can do is L legs)
– 9 Sumo Deadlift High Pull (35/50 lbs) (I used the 25 lb KB)
– 9 box jumps (I used the medium box, yay!)
Rest 3 minutes

AMRAP in 10 minutes – I did 3
.
– 12 pull ups  (jumping)
– 12 KBS (35/50 lbs) (I used the 25 lb KB)
– 12 burpees  (knee pushups)

Thursday, March 24 – REST DAY

Friday, March 25

CrossFit
400m run for time – I ran it in 1:51
Tabata couplets (Tabata is 20 seconds on 10 seconds rest, usually for 8 minutes.  This workout was for 16 minutes.)
– push up/sit up (4 sets of each for 4 mins.), then pull up/ squat
Then REPEAT – I completed 326 total moves
400m run for time – I ran it in 1:46

Saturday, March 26

Bouldering – Did a bunch of V0s, didn’t come across one that I couldn’t do. Can’t really start any V1s yet, I’m too scared without the rope.

I’m kind of digging the Olympic Lifting side of CrossFit.  After yesterday’s non-heavy workout I felt like my muscles were craving some heavy work.  So I worked on my single rep max Push Press and Back Squat.  It was fun!
Push Press: 75 lbs.
Back Squat: 125 lbs.
For fun I also practiced a Farmers Carry with two 50 kettlebells, tried the SDHP from Wednesday with a 50 lb bell (I could do 10!), and worked on lifting my legs up to improve my sorry-ass knees to elbows move.

Sunday, March 20 – REST DAY


4 thoughts on “One Month Down, The Rest of My Life To Go

  1. garyarthuryoung says:

    Heya!

    I just happened to be logging recent workouts and calories/nutrition when I saw this. It is Sunday, huh.

    I’m no Jeremy but you have every reason to have a positive outlook about yourself. If your measurements are decreasing and your performance is improving, you’re way ahead of the game. Damn you’re fitStrong … in a totally smokin’ hot Diana Prince way. (Uh huh, I said it.)

    And for what it’s worth, the more I get into the strength training — week 4 begins tomorrow — the more inspiring your posts are for me.

    I’m not sure if you’ve mentioned it, but do you count calories or log what you’re eating? Maybe you could do both. CrossFit *and* calorie counting, especially now that you’ve got your macronutrients at your command, might do the trick for your weight loss goal.

    I’m eating less than 100g of carbs a day, which makes me feel like I can get away with eating a little more fat. But fat does have twice the calories of carbs (or protein) per gram. So maybe I shouldn’t use that tablespoon of bacon grease when sauteeing kale and garlic?

    I think — as long as you’re getting more fit and are getting some joy from all of your pursuits you shouldn’t change a thing just so a machine can spit out a number.

    Ironically, my goal is to lose 24 lbs. by the end of the three months. We’ll see how that goes.

    Keep it up, J-MO.

    • jannamo says:

      Haha, I had to look up Diana Prince, and OK, I’ll take that as a complement. Thanks Gary.

      I guess I was just hoping for a magic bullet where I didn’t have to count calories. And in a way I found one – I’ve been eating pretty much as much fat as I might possibly want and I’m maintaining my weight. I certainly haven’t been holding back on that tablespoon of bacon fat for sauteeing my kale.

      So I guess all there is to really do is keep bringing more consciousness to what I eat and that’s that. Or count calories, but I think I’m going to continue trying without for now. I’m holding on to the dream that I can lean up by cutting out danger foods and just listening harder to what my body wants.

      Keep up the good work, Gary, I’m inspired by you too.

      • garyarthuryoung says:

        Mmmm bacon.

        It’s one of my goals after I lose some of this excess baggage to be able to eat and maintain without counting anything.

        My trainer, Justin, asked me if I was interested in logging my diet and I said, proudly, that I do track my food on DailyBurn (for example, they have an app that lets you take a picture of the barcode on food and it enters the nutrition data nearly automagically) and am pretty good at ballparking. He looked at me and picked his words carefully and said, “I mean measuring. Are you interested in that? Do you have a food scale?”

        I do have a food scale but have no interest in measuring food. I mean, if I reach the point where it seems necessary or critical for some future goal I wouldn’t scoff at it. I’ll do what it takes. But really? Sure I like numbers, but I’d rather eat and enjoy and be healthy as opposed to being focused on grams.

        Oh. I’m supposed to be working right now.

Leave a Reply

