Practice doesn’t always make perfect

…or Running more doesn’t always make you a better runner

If you know me you know I’ve been running a lot (albeit pretty slowly) since 2003.  I’ve run 5 marathons, 7 half-marathons, and a number of shorter races.  Every one of the marathons felt like I was going to die by the end.  Even the half marathons all put me in a significant amount of pain the next day.  Hobbling stiff-legged down stairs, lowering myself onto the toilet with my hands, that kind of thing.  All my improvements have been gained by running more, but I decided I was kinda done with the long races because I always felt so bad after them.

Three weeks ago I started doing CrossFit.  Dude.  Let me tell you, that’s a workout.  I wouldn’t have been ready for it if I hadn’t done a bootcamp 2 days a week at my office all this last fall.  It was taught by a guy who is a CrossFit instructor, but we didn’t have a lot of the equipment, like barbells.  But I learned how to squat a bazillion times and lift heavier dumbells than I thought I could (15 or 20 lbs, which seems like hahaha! nothing! now).  I’ll do another post on CrossFit (and why I LOVE it), but for now I’ll just say that while I may always be the weakest on in my class, I’m far stronger in every way than I’ve ever been in my life.

So all this is to say that I’ve been running far less than I used to these days, but feeling much stronger on every run.  Today (after not running since Saturday) I did a 3.5 mile loop around my office that usually takes me about 42-45 minutes.  Two years ago when I was training for The Relay I could do it in maybe 36-37 minutes.   Today I did it in 30:36.  I was shocked!  I didn’t even push it in the first half of the loop.  Near the end I realized how quickly I was running, and then I did push it.  But yeah!  I love doing stuff that I’m proud of myself for.

Leave a Reply

