Potato Chip Cookies

I was invited to my first Cookie Party this year. What fun! Everyone brings 5 dozen of one kind of cookie, and leaves with a giant tupperware container filled with a cornucopia of cookie variety. The only danger for me is my drive to try a bit of everything.

I wanted to make something that I could count on no one else bringing, so I paged through my grandma’s old recipe book. As soon as turned to the potato chip cookies, I knew this would be the one. There’s something special about the combination of salty and sweet. My mom used to put salty peanuts on our ice cream sundaes to the same effect. Chocolate-covered pretzels have the same yummy combination.

Potato chip cookies remind me of the 50s, when jello was a reasonable ingredient for a salad, and cool whip could constitute most of a pie. These cookies translate well to the modern day however. The cookie is crumbly, a bit like shortbread, with the salty potato chip bits and the toasted pecans to add a bit of crunch. Definitely one of my favorite cookies.

  • 1 1/2 C. butter
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 C. crushed potato chips
  • 3 C. flour
  • 1 C. chopped toasted pecans
  • 1 t. vanilla

Cream butter and sugar well. Mix in each of the rest of the ingredients in order. Drop by teaspoons on greased cookie sheets. Press each cookie once with a fork dipped in sugar. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

One thought on “Potato Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

