Sauteed Baby Artichokes

Aren’t these baby artichokes adorable and delicious looking?

I started prepping them, remembered to take a picture of the prep, and then, wouldn’t you know it, I ate those babies right up without taking a picture of the final product. Well, anyway, I’ll learn eventually. Here’s the baby artichokes as I prepped them. At least I got one picture taken.

I learned from Elise that baby artichokes are completely edible once they are stripped of their outside leaves. They are a variety of artichoke that is fully mature when it’s smaller, but it also does not have a fully developed choke.

As usual, I started with her recipe, and then altered it to suit my tastes and my ingredients on hand. I was in the mood for that delicious lingering taste that’s completely distinctive to artichoke to artichokes and butter so I eliminated any other flavors except salt and pepper. You could add herbs or cheeses or any number of other ingredients for variety of flavor.

This is enough for two as a side dish.

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 baby artichokes
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 3 + 1 C. cold water
  • 1/2 T. olive oil
  • 1-2 T. butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put the cold water and lemon juice (or you can use vinegar) into a large pot or bowl. This is to prevent the artichokes from discoloring as you prepare them. Cut the stem off each artichoke to about 1/4 inch. Peel the outside leaves off until the artichoke is at least 2/3 pale green, (the one I’ve started on in the picture has a few more layers to go) and then chop off the darker green tip. Trim any remaining darker green bits and then cut the artichoke in halves or quarters depending on its size. Toss them into the bowl of acidified water while you prepare the others.

When the artichokes are ready to go, drain them and put them in a saute pan with another cup of water and simmer for 4-5 minutes. Drain again and drizzle with the olive oil. Saute for 2 minutes then add a pat of butter. After 2 minutes add another pat of butter. Add salt and pepper to taste. When they’re starting to just brown, they’re ready to go.

Did I mention these babies are delicious? I didn’t even get a photo!

Leave a Reply

