Prosciutto-wrapped Salmon

I don’t make this very often as my preferred type of salmon (wild-caught) is so damn expensive, and good prosciutto ain’t exactly cheap, now that I mention it, but this dish is fantastic. It’s one of may favorite go-to entrees for a bit of fancy flair without too much effort. I adapted it from something I saw that cute English boy, Jamie Oliver, do on TV, but it’s been ages since I saw it, so I’m not sure how close my recipe is to his original anymore.

And while it might sound a bit off to combine cured pork and fish, it’s actually quite divine, as the prosciutto holds the moisture and flavors in the fish with a very lovely result. I usually don’t even add salt, as the prosciutto takes care of that.

  • Salmon fillets – skin-off is best for this recipe, as you’ll want to eat the whole thing
  • Proscuitto – as thinly sliced as you can get it. 2-3 slices per fillet.
  • Olive Oil
  • Herbs

Rinse the salmon fillets , and place them in a pan. I like to use a 9″ x 13″ glass pan. Drizzle the fillets with a bit of olive oil, and use your hands to lightly coat the fish. Sprinkle with dried herbs (and maybe balck pepper if you like) on both sides. I use a simple Italian Herb mix. Then, wrap each fillet with 2-3 slices of the prosciutto, and bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of fish.

Voila! A rich, but still rather healthy main course!

Leave a Reply

